Day 16: Something you always think “What if…” about

Standard

This is hard for me, because I love my life.  My children are my world, and I can’t imagine being married to anyone but my husband.  I guess if I had a “what if” moment, it would be about going to college.  I was accepted into Southwest Texas State University(now Texas State University) when I graduated in 1995.  I didn’t get any scholarships, and only received one loan offer for $1200.  Needless to say, this would not have been enough to even pay for my books.  I wanted to be an interior designer, but looking back, that may have just been because I picked a random degree. Now, at age 37, I have no idea what I would want to do with my life.  I have only ever held customer service positions, and lord knows those are thankless jobs.  Every year I am a stay at home mom, it cements the mentality that I have no marketable skills.

I tried to start my own business with the crafts that I make, but that fizzled out when I figured out that I had to sell myself.  I am not a salesperson. At all. I don’t know how to network, and I’m lost when it comes to technology.  I tried to get the mbff to help, but sadly, he has a life and can’t hold my hand through it all.  Also, I enjoy making things, but it is harder to do when it is a job.  I like to give the stuff away, and for some reason, you can’t make money that way.

So….what if…..I went to college. Would I have met my husband? Probably not. If I had not met him, I wouldn’t have my two precious angels, and that is a life not worth living.

 

you first

5 thoughts on “Day 16: Something you always think “What if…” about

  1. We’ve all had those moments. Before we actually started dating, I invited my not-yet husband to a company softball game I was playing in. At the game, the very, very cute first baseman was flirting with me. My not-yet arrived, and waved to me; the first baseman was winking at me. Which way should I turn? What if I had ignored the wave and gone with the wink? After 33 years, I have no regrets.

    • I’m so sorry darlin! I didn’t see this yesterday 😦 33 years is an amusing feat considering most people take the “easy way out” these days. There are many things I regret, but all of them made me who I am today, so I could never say that I would change any od them. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. So happy that the wave worked out so happily for you.

Talk to me

