Day 13: Your opinion about your body, and how comfortable you are with it

Standard

I am overweight. I am in no way comfortable in my own skin. I don’t like being in public and thinking that I am being ridiculed.  On the other hand, my selfie game is strong.  I know which angles look best. I can photograph myself and paint a very flattering picture. This is with headshots and full body shots. I know there are some out there who will only post photos from the cleavage up, and they will crop the fuck out of the photo, as well.  Though I’m not a fan of cropping, I understand the impulse.  We all have that one thing that we think doesn’t look good.

image

(strategic angles)

I’ve had two children via c-section and a hysterectomy. To say my pelvic muscles are wrecked is a bit of an understatement.  That’s not to say that there is nothing that can be done.  I can exercise and eat right, I just choose not to. That’s why I don’t complain about my weight. It’s nobody’s fault but my own.
image

(angles, filters, and high heels)

My biggest problem, I think, is that I look for outside validation.  I was on Instagram, and the comments from men AND women absolutely made my day.  Unfortunately, I married a very jealous man, and my flirting was too much.  I can understand that, as well. I am not a jealous person, but I knew this about him 14 years ago, when we first started dating.  So, I voluntarily left the site in order to bring some peace to our household. Sadly, I am now getting into a rut, and feel like a blob.  I know what I HAVE to do, but the motivation to do it just isn’t there 😦
image

(cropping out the gross parts)

11 thoughts on “Day 13: Your opinion about your body, and how comfortable you are with it

  1. LoveandFlats

    At least you still look beautiful. You can change (because you want to, I’m not saying you need to) you know everything you need to do to fix yourself the way you want. Finding motivation is ridiculously hard for me as well. I just know it’s worth it.

    P.S. I use the Naked palette as well & I love it.

  2. You are beautiful, and you are real! Every woman faces this battle, even the ones who are not overweight. We do this, all of us, and it’s insane …our need for perfection. We are insane! 😉
    I was just telling people at work today that I don’t exercise because I just plain don’t want to. haha..so you are not alone there 😉

    • You are too sweet, and yes, women feel like we’re competing all the time, and it’s just not true. We’re so unfair to each other, when we need to be lifting each other up we’re tearing each down instead.
      I think you’re gorgeous and your writing makes me giggle. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and comment. It means a lot.

Talk to me

