Day 9: How important is education

Standard

I didn’t go to college. My mbff didn’t go to college. My fbff DID go to college, and received a bachelor’s degree in education.

I am a stay at home mom, living comfortably in a four bedroom/two bath home. Mbff is living quite well in his spacious home, working for a popular technological company. Fbff is also a stay at home mom, after working as an adjunct professor for several years.

I think what I am trying to say is, education is important. To a certain extent. You don’t need more than a high school education to find a profession and live comfortably, AND having a degree doesn’t necessarily mean that you will be happy in the career path that your degree is for.

More than a college education, I think we should be giving our children a “real life” education. We, as a society, need to be educated about race, gender, mental, and lifestyle differences. I am sick of the ignorance that is running rampant around me. We need to teach our children how to keep track of a checking account. We need to teach our children how to fight, both verbally and physically (because there are some real assholes out there). We need to teach our children how to change a tire, change the oil, and other basic vehicle maintenance.

Education is important, but the right kind of education. The type of knowledge that will make our children grow to be positive and productive members of our society.

image

4 thoughts on “Day 9: How important is education

  1. Hi, yea I couldn´t agree more with that. It is said that Plato made the first school with the purpose of teaching people how to think in the abstract, how not to be fooled by words. Fooling by the use of words were a complete philosophical discipline, sophism, in those days. Nowadays, it´s the domain of politicians and sales people and the need to see through it is just as great as ever. The right education is the best means of seeing through manipulation.

  2. I think it depends upon the talents and desires each child has. If the kid wants to go into the corporate world, sales or politics, the standard high school / college experience complete with standardized tests and lots of BS is excellent preparation, a mirror of what they must be willing to navigate through. If they want to pursue an arts-based profession, regular schooling and college are less relevant. But If one wants to pursue a career that involves a license and regulation like education, law or health care, it does absolutely require college level training (even if it’s in a trade school) as well as internships and apprentice work.

    • I agree with most of this, but I feel standardized testing does nothing to prepare them for their future. Especially because nobody learns the same way, so how can there be a standard? I’m all for college, in fact, I was accepted into college. Unfortunately, we could not afford for me to go. I definitely think that it is a personal decision, I’m just saying there are other forms of knowledge that are just as, if not more, important

Talk to me

