Glory, Glory, Hallelujah!!

Standard

Tomorrow is the first day of school. Tomorrow. Is. The. First. Day. Of. School!!!!!  I just keep saying it over and over in my head. I am so excited! After a summer full of whining, bickering, backbiting, and crying the children will be able to get rid of me….at least for a few hours 😉

Don’t get me wrong, I love my children. They fill my life with joy, and they are my greatest accomplishments. That being said, they can annoy the crap out of me in 5 seconds flat.  The fact that I was an only child (for the most part) only makes their fighting more confusing to me. I just don’t get it. Why are you arguing about who gets to watch which movie at what time?!? Take turns, already!! Geez! Oh, I’m sorry. The prince said something hurtful to you, princess?  Didn’t I JUST hear you tell him that he stinks like poop?  Summer time is a never ending slug fest, interrupted every now and then by a friend wanting the prince to come out and play.  He’s 9, so I have decided to give him a little more freedom, as long as he doesn’t abuse it. I pretty much know the neighborhood, since we’ve lived here for 8 years now, and he only gets to go down two streets so far.  The princess is 6, and she doesn’t get to leave my sight.  Which usually leads to more bickering, but this is a point I won’t budge on.

Last year, I was the room mom for my daughter’s kindergarten class, and I didn’t think I would have the fortitude to do it, again. At open house last week, the sign up sheet was staring at me with great anticipation, so I found myself putting that star by my name.  I am sure that this year won’t be as hectic. I have some experience under my belt, and hopefully know what NOT to do this year. I’ve already printed out my welcome letter with an option to return contact information to me (big problem with communication last year), and hopefully I will get a good response.  The princess found out that two of the girls from her class last year will be in her class this year, so that is a plus, but I think she only likes one of them, so whomp, whomp, whomp.

I won’t sign up to help with the prince’s class, because he is getting to the age where everything I do is embarrassing.  Advantage for me, as I can use this against him in a disciplinary capacity (maniacal laugh, maniacal laugh).  We did find out that he knows his teacher. She is in the classroom right next to his former class. Hopefully, she will be stern and not fall for his big, brown doe eyes. This has been the fate of all of his former teachers, even the male.  On the downside, he only recognizes one student’s name, and he hasn’t been in a classroom with him since kindergarten. Hopefully they get along as well as they did back then, because I thought this boy was a great influence on the prince.

I will miss them dreadfully. They were my running buddies throughout the summer. They went thrifting with me with very little complaint, and we went to the pool quite often. With them at school, I will have no excuses to not workout or clean the house. I will not miss the fighting, but I will definitely miss all of the hilarious things they would say.  The most innocent of comments could be turned into a full blown laugh fest with just their tone of voice or look on their faces.  They are definitely too smart for my own good.  They have my sarcasm and comedic timing and their father’s deadpan delivery of the pottiest of jokes.  I will miss the carefree days of no homework, and no filling out of forms.  The days of dreaded phone calls are nigh upon me. The nurse, the assistant principal, the teacher…they will all know me intimately by the end of the first 3 weeks, I’m sure. Well, the assistant principal already knows me quite well.  My son doesn’t have what they call “da social skills”.  Just kidding, but not really, but sort of.  I’ll save that for another post, I think.

So, onward we go. Through the halls of academia for another year.  We’ll weather the storms like we have in the past. I will probably cry. I may even blubber a little. At the end of the day, I know that my children are in good hands. I will rejoice in the fact that they will grow up to be good little citizens, and I will have a delicious, healthy snack waiting for them when they get home. Or Goldfish. I may have Goldfish waiting for them….

Talk to me

